Jump to content


Photo

Best aftermarket ECU for 3SGTE- Opinions


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#1 ST205 GT-Four

ST205 GT-Four

    Forum Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 609 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • STATE:NSW

Posted 24 April 2005 - 08:32 PM

Anyone here using an aftermarket ECU?

What are peoples opinions on ECU's for the 3SGTE?
For Sale:1995 ST205 Toyota Celica GT-Four

#2 berad

berad

    Forum Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 364 posts
  • Location:brisbane
  • Interests:cars

Posted 24 April 2005 - 09:06 PM

ems stinger 4424.....

http://www.engineman...products_id=107

its upgradbale to version 4 wen it comes out
easy to tune
aux outputs , nos , tachos , cooler sprayer etc
closed loop
real time
onboard map sensor to some ridiculous amount of boost so no afm



you can read :D

it really depends wat your after but , plug and play etc


and if your on a budget do a search on the "megasquirt" ecu quality ecu for the price.... a m8 has it comes with full loom with all sensors for ur car etc.. but you have to tune it yourself as noone tunes it cauz its like.. i dunno ppl just dont tune it end of story but good ecu think its like 500 bucks with software loom like a 100page help and tuning book

but i recomend ems... ive had no problems u can lean the car right to the line without it having a cry and changin the timing etc on u
162 - Dead standard, the way i like it


#3 -==L=a=N=c=E==-

-==L=a=N=c=E==-

    The Red Baron

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,405 posts
  • Location:Rosewood, Queensland, Australia
  • Interests:Fast Cars, Fast Women
  • STATE:QLD

Posted 24 April 2005 - 09:10 PM

I could go on all nite.

For you, i would hoenstly consider a PowerFC since they are availbe for the 3rd gen 3S-GTE. Your garunteed every nissan performance shop in aussie and tune these babies.

Me personally, without spending shit loads of money on topnotch hardware. I would go Haltech, Wolf or EMS. They are all good, and all do there stuff. the Haltech latest edition has some interesting features. And might be heading that way in the future.

In the end, it comes down to what you want out of an ecu. If you just want power, then microleb is for you. Else, if you want power and some kinda of economy, then head to something like wolf or haltech. And if you just want bragging rights cause you got big balls. Motec baby.
Richard - "Never enough power. Just not enough traction."

Do you need 3S-GTE/ST185 technical articles? Look at my collection HERE

#4 -==L=a=N=c=E==-

-==L=a=N=c=E==-

    The Red Baron

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,405 posts
  • Location:Rosewood, Queensland, Australia
  • Interests:Fast Cars, Fast Women
  • STATE:QLD

Posted 25 April 2005 - 01:02 PM

This might interest you.

http://forums.toymod...fca8034a046ad2c
Richard - "Never enough power. Just not enough traction."

Do you need 3S-GTE/ST185 technical articles? Look at my collection HERE

#5 GT3071R

GT3071R

    OZCelica Junkie

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,438 posts
  • Location:Adelaide, South Australia
  • Interests:Mountain Biking

Posted 25 April 2005 - 01:29 PM

ems stinger 4424.....

Not bad. you can even program in Anti-Lag (Bang Bang.) Deffinitly something to consider when the time comes to upgrade mine.

Jordan
Luke 1:79
To give light to those who sit in darkness and the shadow of death, to guide our feet into the way of peace.

#6 Beej

Beej

    Forum Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 847 posts
  • Interests:Hap Ki Do, Gym, Automotive

Posted 25 April 2005 - 06:05 PM

im not sure, u'll haf to ask the Alltrac.net guys, but either AEM or Autronic come with maps for 3S-GTE and plug and play loom. MR2 guys in the US love em
ITS A VENT NOT A FUKING SCOOP!!!
[I] walk the thin line between shallow and deep - Slug, Between the lines
QUOTE(Champ_B)
hi to you too

now gimme a ride in your car

user posted image

#7 GT4titude

GT4titude

    4WheelSpinneR

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,161 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • STATE:NSW

Posted 25 April 2005 - 06:10 PM

Yeah im probably going to go for a Haltech. Heard that they are pretty good especially for the money and can deal with replacment injectors etc etc.

Place in syd offered 2300 for the computer, installation and tuning etc

Dunno what the norm going price for it is though.. gotta do some more research when it comes time for it
*************************************** - 2007 Focus XR5 Turbo - **************************************

#8 -==L=a=N=c=E==-

-==L=a=N=c=E==-

    The Red Baron

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,405 posts
  • Location:Rosewood, Queensland, Australia
  • Interests:Fast Cars, Fast Women
  • STATE:QLD

Posted 25 April 2005 - 08:06 PM

GT3071R: anti-lag is cool, but absolute stupid idea for the street. You'll be going thru turbo's like tires. Regularly.

Beej: As much as plug and play is nice, you have to remember that not many (i can think of one) tuners in aussie know how to tune the AEM competently. And why go US when Aussie's lead the worl din ECU technology...

GT4titude: i would be worried if my aftermarket ecu couldn't be wired to take on any injector.

$2300 installed, with computer and tune is not a bad price at all, considering the unit costs around $1500 and the install and tuning, i suppose that is a good deal
Richard - "Never enough power. Just not enough traction."

Do you need 3S-GTE/ST185 technical articles? Look at my collection HERE

#9 sikx5

sikx5

    OZCelica Junkie

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,770 posts
  • Location:Brisbane - QLD
  • STATE:QLD

Posted 25 April 2005 - 08:22 PM

Im going for a Haltek system, mainly because i can get it tuned and looked after by someone local. But the EMS stinger has got me searching again, a preset setting to run anti-lag is good stuff. Cheers.
???AWHP - .: R32 Golf
300AWHP - ST185 Group A

#10 -==L=a=N=c=E==-

-==L=a=N=c=E==-

    The Red Baron

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,405 posts
  • Location:Rosewood, Queensland, Australia
  • Interests:Fast Cars, Fast Women
  • STATE:QLD

Posted 25 April 2005 - 08:25 PM

Im going for a Haltek system, mainly because i can get it tuned and looked after by someone local. But the EMS stinger has got me searching again, a preset setting to run anti-lag is good stuff. Cheers.


The latest haltech has antilag and flatshift. Possibly launch control if im not mistaken.
Richard - "Never enough power. Just not enough traction."

Do you need 3S-GTE/ST185 technical articles? Look at my collection HERE

#11 sikx5

sikx5

    OZCelica Junkie

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,770 posts
  • Location:Brisbane - QLD
  • STATE:QLD

Posted 25 April 2005 - 08:56 PM

Im going for a Haltek system, mainly because i can get it tuned and looked after by someone local. But the EMS stinger has got me searching again, a preset setting to run anti-lag is good stuff. Cheers.


The latest haltech has antilag and flatshift. Possibly launch control if im not mistaken.


What sort of prices are you looking at for a Haltek Richard? the E6X? or E11?

and to stay on topic, I would go with the Apexi one for your Gen III 3SGTE dude, its simple, cheaper option and available just about everywhere!! check out eBay.
???AWHP - .: R32 Golf
300AWHP - ST185 Group A

#12 -==L=a=N=c=E==-

-==L=a=N=c=E==-

    The Red Baron

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,405 posts
  • Location:Rosewood, Queensland, Australia
  • Interests:Fast Cars, Fast Women
  • STATE:QLD

Posted 25 April 2005 - 09:02 PM

For one, its Haltech for two, its the E6X.

I've been given word that haltech also have a plug in loom. I'll chase this up when the time comes.
Richard - "Never enough power. Just not enough traction."

Do you need 3S-GTE/ST185 technical articles? Look at my collection HERE

#13 GT4titude

GT4titude

    4WheelSpinneR

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,161 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • STATE:NSW

Posted 25 April 2005 - 11:08 PM

GT4titude: i would be worried if my aftermarket ecu couldn't be wired to take on any injector.

$2300 installed, with computer and tune is not a bad price at all, considering the unit costs around $1500 and the install and tuning, i suppose that is a good deal


Yah true :thumbup:

I wasn't listening fully i must admit cos i was to excited about what i was buying =) hehe i think they were saying stuff on the lines of it being more tailorable in that respect than the autronic. And also mentioned something along the lines of the mircotech being a waste of time because it can't be as well fine tuned and a lot of cars using them seem to run rich or lean and so fuel eco is also pretty shit.. These fellos install Autronic, Haltech and wolf i think but specialise in haltech... some fool with an EA/EB falcon had a turbo fitted to it getting a haltech done at their place.. haha they laughed at it and said "WE DID NOT CONDONE THIS".. it looked pretty beat up other than the turbo =)
*************************************** - 2007 Focus XR5 Turbo - **************************************

#14 -==L=a=N=c=E==-

-==L=a=N=c=E==-

    The Red Baron

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,405 posts
  • Location:Rosewood, Queensland, Australia
  • Interests:Fast Cars, Fast Women
  • STATE:QLD

Posted 25 April 2005 - 11:25 PM

Alot of people don't understand ecus, and its easy enough to have crap fed to you like a baby.

Quite simply Microtech's are GOOD ... but... thats a big BUT they are only every good for full race situations, where power is the all and mighty.

The reason why microtech's have a bad rep on economy, is for the pure reason they don't have any kind of closed loop O2 control. The whole idea of this system, is when your off boost and pootling around off throttle, you don't need yoru mixtures spot on 12:1 for power. The O2 sensor allows the ecu to grab a more economical 14.7:1 stoich air fuel mix. Better for economy as well.

The microtech is what i'd call bottom of the rung ECU's. Best example i can give, one of my mates has his 12sec GT4 running an old MTX8. He can get 200km's to the tank... Thats a 68L tank mind you. Thats foor for thought.

Middle of the range is the haltech/wolf/ems. They all have closed loop, have all the features the microtech has, and sometimes more. But all these guys have no closed loop knock control Another little feature which not many people understand, but a feature which i honestly think can be skimped on.

Top of the range is obviously the Motec/Autronic's out there. They have all of the above features, closed loop knock control and more.

There is more to ECU's as meets the eye.
Richard - "Never enough power. Just not enough traction."

Do you need 3S-GTE/ST185 technical articles? Look at my collection HERE

#15 ROME

ROME

    OZCelica Junkie

  • Victoria Moderator
  • 1,879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne
  • STATE:VIC

Posted 26 April 2005 - 01:11 AM

I am looking at the Wolf 3D Version 4 ECU, and......... I like it.

Definatly my choice for "spirited" street driving. It even comes with 3SGTE plug and play wires.

#16 GT3071R

GT3071R

    OZCelica Junkie

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,438 posts
  • Location:Adelaide, South Australia
  • Interests:Mountain Biking

Posted 26 April 2005 - 09:19 AM

GT3071R: anti-lag is cool, but absolute stupid idea for the street. You'll be going thru turbo's like tires. Regularly.

Oh, I'm well aware, you'll also be replacing exhust valves and manifolds.
It's not called "bang bang" for nothing.

Cheers
Jordan
Luke 1:79
To give light to those who sit in darkness and the shadow of death, to guide our feet into the way of peace.

#17 sikx5

sikx5

    OZCelica Junkie

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,770 posts
  • Location:Brisbane - QLD
  • STATE:QLD

Posted 26 April 2005 - 03:23 PM

I saw this in the new Speed Magazine, and took some pictures, hope you can make out the words alright. I dont have a scanner.
The article provides a basic outlook on the ECU's available on the Oz market.


Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
???AWHP - .: R32 Golf
300AWHP - ST185 Group A

#18 ST205 GT-Four

ST205 GT-Four

    Forum Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 609 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • STATE:NSW

Posted 26 April 2005 - 08:38 PM

I have chosen the Apexi Power FC, it has to be specially made by AP Engineering, should arrive in a few weeks. $1350 with hand controller delivered from Japan. Had a quote from Bel Performance in Sydney, $300 road tune, $700 Dyno tune.

Once i sort out my exaust ill get the tune done.

I seriously considered haltech. I dont think you can go wrong with any of the mentioned ECU's really. In the end it they all should have very similar results.

Price, function and ease of install made my decision :owned:
For Sale:1995 ST205 Toyota Celica GT-Four

#19 berad

berad

    Forum Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 364 posts
  • Location:brisbane
  • Interests:cars

Posted 26 April 2005 - 08:49 PM

wat model power fc did u get... u know the normal model which goin by the price is urs.. u have to keep ur afm etc
162 - Dead standard, the way i like it


#20 ST205 GT-Four

ST205 GT-Four

    Forum Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 609 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • STATE:NSW

Posted 26 April 2005 - 10:01 PM

wat model power fc did u get... u know the normal model which goin by the price is urs.. u have to keep ur afm etc



ST205's have a 2 Bar MAP sensor stock.
For Sale:1995 ST205 Toyota Celica GT-Four

#21 GT4titude

GT4titude

    4WheelSpinneR

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,161 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • STATE:NSW

Posted 26 April 2005 - 10:03 PM

Had my AVC-R setup and tuned by bel... I dont believe they have a dyno yet though (as of 4 weeks ago).. dunno if that has changed since then.. i think they were looking at moving to a new bigger location.

They seem to specialise in Apexi stuff. Pretty decent guys. Some seem fairly young though, and two of their main installers remind me a bit of bunta from intial d haha.. older wiser guys.
*************************************** - 2007 Focus XR5 Turbo - **************************************

#22 bgerg

bgerg

    Forum Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 294 posts
  • Location:wollongong
  • Interests:cars waterskiing anything with an engine

Posted 27 April 2005 - 12:10 AM

motec if you can afford it but the haltach is the next one i would use, now the haltech and motec can use the same harness
these units are completly programable and can broaden your tune setups
all the inputs and outputs are only good if the person who is tuning uses them. haltechs latest ecus have trouble when ran using all in/outputs.
well everyone has there own opinion.
also haltech arnt what the use to be, more money hungry then into research and developement, the son has taken over with $ signs in his eyes. but there still good better then most other brands.

#23 -==L=a=N=c=E==-

-==L=a=N=c=E==-

    The Red Baron

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,405 posts
  • Location:Rosewood, Queensland, Australia
  • Interests:Fast Cars, Fast Women
  • STATE:QLD

Posted 27 April 2005 - 11:10 AM

wat model power fc did u get... u know the normal model which goin by the price is urs.. u have to keep ur afm etc



ST205's have a 2 Bar MAP sensor stock.


So your saying you can only run 14psi stock from the factory? id on't think so. (1bar for vacuum 1 bar for boost)

I believ the ST205's are mapped to 19psi. So that would mean they would have atleast a 2.5bar map sensor minimum. (1bar for vacuum, 1.5bar for boost)
Richard - "Never enough power. Just not enough traction."

Do you need 3S-GTE/ST185 technical articles? Look at my collection HERE

#24 ROME

ROME

    OZCelica Junkie

  • Victoria Moderator
  • 1,879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne
  • STATE:VIC

Posted 27 April 2005 - 04:21 PM

More FIY..

I recieved an e-mail from "Speed Technology P/L & EFI Hardware" in Mitcham, Victoria. Just so you have some prices to go off and stuff..

It reads:

Steve Taylor from Advanaced Engine Management gave me your details in regard to purchase of a wolf 3 D ver 4



The wolf 3D ver 4 Hand controller kit is $1395.00

Wolf3D version 4 comes with the following

ECU with built in MAP sensor

Flying lead wiring loom

Plug kit*

Air temp and coolant temp sensors*

Data cable and sensor *

Tuning hand set *

Installation and tuning manuals*





A dealer kit is $1095.00 and does not include the items * marked above



Cost on wiring is approximately $550.00 to tune on road tune, dyno tune and cold start routine is approx $600.00



Regards



Steve Newing

Managing Director - Sales

Speed Technology P/L & EFI Hardware

7 Monomeeth Drive, Mitcham, Victoria, 3132, Australia

Ph 03 9873 5400 Fax 03 9873 5955

International Ph 61 3 9873 5400 Fax 61 3 9873 5955

WEB http://www.efihardware.com/

Email mailto:info@efihardware.com.au

#25 GT4titude

GT4titude

    4WheelSpinneR

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,161 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • STATE:NSW

Posted 27 April 2005 - 05:16 PM

So you reckon Autronic over Haltech Lance??

Those fellow's said the Autronic was roughly the same price as the Haltech..so i guess there if thats true the autronic would be the best bet.

The only one that was cheaper was the microtech but not by that much and of course Motec being VERY expensive.
*************************************** - 2007 Focus XR5 Turbo - **************************************

#26 ST205 GT-Four

ST205 GT-Four

    Forum Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 609 posts
  • Location:Sydney
  • STATE:NSW

Posted 27 April 2005 - 08:08 PM

wat model power fc did u get... u know the normal model which goin by the price is urs.. u have to keep ur afm etc



ST205's have a 2 Bar MAP sensor stock.


So your saying you can only run 14psi stock from the factory? id on't think so. (1bar for vacuum 1 bar for boost)

I believ the ST205's are mapped to 19psi. So that would mean they would have atleast a 2.5bar map sensor minimum. (1bar for vacuum, 1.5bar for boost)



Assuming 1 bar is used for vacuum, then yes, id say a 205 has a 3 bar MAP sensor (i suppose i should have said this). Im talking about the POSITIVE manifold absolute pressure. At around +26psi (~2 bar), the sensor maxes out (ie. 5 volts), at around -18 psi (~1 bar vacuum), the voltage from the sensor is zero. Fuel cut occurs around 1.2 bar (17-17.5psi), not 19psi. The point was to make that a ST205 has a MAP, not a MAF. So getting a D-Jetro or Pro version Power FC is not a choice issue.
For Sale:1995 ST205 Toyota Celica GT-Four

#27 -==L=a=N=c=E==-

-==L=a=N=c=E==-

    The Red Baron

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,405 posts
  • Location:Rosewood, Queensland, Australia
  • Interests:Fast Cars, Fast Women
  • STATE:QLD

Posted 27 April 2005 - 09:28 PM

wat model power fc did u get... u know the normal model which goin by the price is urs.. u have to keep ur afm etc



ST205's have a 2 Bar MAP sensor stock.


So your saying you can only run 14psi stock from the factory? id on't think so. (1bar for vacuum 1 bar for boost)

I believ the ST205's are mapped to 19psi. So that would mean they would have atleast a 2.5bar map sensor minimum. (1bar for vacuum, 1.5bar for boost)



Assuming 1 bar is used for vacuum, then yes, id say a 205 has a 3 bar MAP sensor (i suppose i should have said this). Im talking about the POSITIVE manifold absolute pressure. At around +26psi (~2 bar), the sensor maxes out (ie. 5 volts), at around -18 psi (~1 bar vacuum), the voltage from the sensor is zero. Fuel cut occurs around 1.2 bar (17-17.5psi), not 19psi. The point was to make that a ST205 has a MAP, not a MAF. So getting a D-Jetro or Pro version Power FC is not a choice issue.



i was just being a perdantic bastard. Some people forget the extra bar :goodtimes:

Carry on.
Richard - "Never enough power. Just not enough traction."

Do you need 3S-GTE/ST185 technical articles? Look at my collection HERE

#28 -==L=a=N=c=E==-

-==L=a=N=c=E==-

    The Red Baron

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,405 posts
  • Location:Rosewood, Queensland, Australia
  • Interests:Fast Cars, Fast Women
  • STATE:QLD

Posted 27 April 2005 - 09:30 PM

So you reckon Autronic over Haltech Lance??

Those fellow's said the Autronic was roughly the same price as the Haltech..so i guess there if thats true the autronic would be the best bet.

The only one that was cheaper was the microtech but not by that much and of course Motec being VERY expensive.


whoever is saying that, kick em in the nuts.....

UNLESS his comparing the top of the line E11 and the Autronc bottom of the line SMC then yes the Haltech is slightly cheaper.

Im talking the E6X. They retail for around $1500, and then wire it in.
Richard - "Never enough power. Just not enough traction."

Do you need 3S-GTE/ST185 technical articles? Look at my collection HERE

#29 -==L=a=N=c=E==-

-==L=a=N=c=E==-

    The Red Baron

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,405 posts
  • Location:Rosewood, Queensland, Australia
  • Interests:Fast Cars, Fast Women
  • STATE:QLD

Posted 27 April 2005 - 09:32 PM

ROME: the wolf ecu comes plug in these days. The only thing you need to do is plug in the unit, plumb in the air intake sensor, and feed a vacuum line to the unit and its preatty much 'turn key'. Both Paul and Classique71 have these units now.
Richard - "Never enough power. Just not enough traction."

Do you need 3S-GTE/ST185 technical articles? Look at my collection HERE

#30 ROME

ROME

    OZCelica Junkie

  • Victoria Moderator
  • 1,879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne
  • STATE:VIC

Posted 28 April 2005 - 09:45 PM

ROME: the wolf ecu comes plug in these days. The only thing you need to do is plug in the unit, plumb in the air intake sensor, and feed a vacuum line to the unit and its preatty much 'turn key'. Both Paul and Classique71 have these units now.


True. My only thought is should I spent the extra $300 and get the full kit? I mean is the hand unit you get useful or just a but of flashy wank?

I guess it would save me over time so I don't need temp gauges with all the sensors you get with it.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users