#1 Lockster

Lockster

OZCelica Newbie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • STATE:VIC

Posted 13 April 2016 - 12:32 AM

Does anyone know a good mechanic in Perth who's familiar with the 2ZZ?

There's something not quite right with mine but I don't know enough to tell what it is. I have a baisc mechanical knowledge but nowhere near enough to properly diagnose it. It feels weak and rough, doesn't pull smooth and strong like it used to, and makes a tinny/raspy kind of noise as the revs climb. There is a bit of tappet noise on startup, I don't know if this normal or something I should be concerned about.

I want to have it diagnosed by someone who knows what they're doing and have whatever needs fixing, fixed. I'm a full-time student with very limited funds, so I can't afford to be wasting money taking it to someone who might not know exactly what's going on. I suspect it'll cost me to get it back to A1, so I want to make sure it's done properly the first time.

I'm relatively new to Perth and don't know anyone who can recommend a good mechanic, so any recommendations would be appreciated.

#2 ZRB

ZRB

OZCelica Junkie

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,045 posts
  • STATE:NSW

Posted 13 April 2016 - 06:24 AM

Tappet noise shouldn't be too loud on child start up, but it can be. Usually louder as the engine heats up.

The 2zz is well known for loud tappet noise.

#3 moo11123

moo11123

Forum Member

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 645 posts
  • Interests:BOOSTED 7th GEN CELICAS!! <3
  • STATE:NSW

Posted 13 April 2016 - 09:17 AM

I suggest doing a compression test on each cylinder first.

Why not take the car to a reputable local (ish) mechanic. This doesn't sound like its too hard to diagnose.

#4 Champ

Champ

[IAN WRC]

• Admin
  • 1,611 posts
  • STATE:WA

Posted 20 April 2016 - 01:19 PM

Give Mal Motors a call and speak to Mal - (08) 9446 6336 or 0422 544 124. He's familiar around the Celica's and may be able to help.

• Lockster likes this

#5 Lockster

Lockster