Rando

OZCelica Newbie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • STATE:NSW

Posted 26 April 2016 - 03:49 PM

Hey guys,

I've recently got a stock 2001 Celica for about 2-3 months now and it's my first time learning a manual by myself.

I haven't driven another manual car before, so I don't know if I'm driving it wrong or there is an issue with it.

Is it normal for the RPMs to drop really quickly when the clutch pedal is pushed in to change gears, I need to slip the clutch?(apply a bit of throttle while releasing the clutch pedal) to get a smoother upshift.

Sometimes, if I accidentally push the throttle a bit too much once the clutch fully engages, it is a bit jerky, possibly slipping?

Maybe I need to shift really quickly?

Recently, I've also noticed some oddities with how the car behaves on every cold start.

Rattling sound on start up. (I read somewhere it could be the intake cam sprocket?)

Temp indicator takes a while to get to near the middle of the gauge. Idle RPM about 1500 when temp indicator is at 0, then gradually idle to 900 when the temp indicator is near the middle.

The fuel consumption also seems to be really off compared to everyone else in this forum, I probably drive about 350-400KM every 30-40L refuel, no idea how you guys get over 600KM.

I usually shift between 2500 - 3000 RPM, I haven't hit Lift yet as I'm pretty sure the bolts have snapped, I've been to Tu's in Guildford (Anhphuongvu's mechanic) and he quoted about $400 to change them, so I would rather sort out the other issues before the Lift bolts.

Any advice and insights are appreciated.

Thanks! 

#2 ZRB

ZRB

OZCelica Junkie

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,045 posts

Posted 26 April 2016 - 06:59 PM

Don't quote this as gospel, but the reason why it's jerky when releasing the clutch and then straight onto the gas is that 2500-3000 IMO is too low. I find it easier to shift while giving it, but when driving slow, you need to be shifting at 3000rpm, no lower.